Guatemalan Holidays and Observences

Denotes a public holiday with paid leave. Employees also receive the feast day of their town or city’s patron saint as a paid holiday.

 1 January – New Year’s Day

14 February – Día del Cariño (Valentine’s Day)

March or April – Semana Santa (Holy Week, ending with Easter) –    Thursday, Friday, and Saturday are the official holidays

 1 May – Labor Day

10 May – Mother’s Day

May or June – Corpus Christi (9 weeks after Holy Thursday)

17 June – Father’s Day

 30 June – Army Day

 15 September – Independence Day

 20 October – Revolution Day

 1 November – All Saints Day (Día de Todos los Santos / Día de los Muertos)

7 December – Quema del Diablo (Burning of the Devil)

 24 December– Christmas Eve (beginning at noon)

25 December – Christmas Day

 31 December – New Year’s Eve (beginning at noon)

Fiestas Patronales

Every town has an annual feria (fair) centered around the feast day of the town’s patron saint. Here are the feast days for the patron saints of towns around the lake, listed in date order. Ferias may last a few days or a couple weeks, depending on the town.

San Pablo la Laguna: 25 de Enero, San Pablo Apóstol
San José Chacayá: 19 de Marzo, Patriarca San José Obrero
San Marcos la Laguna: 25 de Abril, San Marcos Evangelista
Santa Cruz la Laguna: 10 de Mayo, Santa Elena de La Cruz
San Antonio Palopó: 13 de Junio, San Antonio de Padua
San Juan la Laguna: 24 de Junio, San Juan Bautista
San Pedro la Laguna: 29 de Junio, San Pedro Apóstol
Santa María Visitación: 2 de Julio, Visitación de María
Santiago Atitlán: 25 de Julio, Santiago Apóstol
Santa Clara la Laguna: 12 de Agosto, Santa Clara de Asís
Sololá: 15 de Agosto, Virgen de la Asunción
Panajachel: 4 de Octubre, San Francisco de Asís
San Lucas Tolimán: 18 de Octubre, San Lucas Evangelista
San Andrés Semetabaj: 13 de Noviembre, San Andrés Apóstol
Nahualá: 25 de Noviembre, Santa Catarina de Alejandría
Santa Catarina Ixtahuatán: 25 de Noviembre, Santa Catarina de Alejandría
Santa Catarina Palopó: 25 de Noviembre, Santa Catarina de Alejandría
Concepción: 8 de Diciembre, Virgen de la Inmaculada Concepción
Santa Lucía Utatlán: 13 de Diciembre, Santa Lucía